Leopard fixes

Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard is great, but as any other OS, it has it’s growing pains.

Here’s issues I encountered with it:

1. MailActOn doesn’t work with new Mail.app
UPDATE: The Leopard install has been released. Works great.

2. When starting Terminal.app I got this error message:

You are not authorized to run this application. The administrator has set your shell to an illegal value.”

I downloaded iTerm from http://iterm.sourceforge.net/ and issued a command:

sudo chsh -s /bin/bash my_username

That fixed it.

One Response to Leopard fixes

  1. Hatem Nassrat says:

    I am using tiger, an I found this problem. I am an iTerm user, but I found its annoyingly slow with their latest update, its eating up all my CPU !!!.

    Anyways, I found that Terminal.app will not run and will give the anoying:

    “The administrator has set your shell to an illegal value”

    Message if the shell is set to anything other than /bin/bash. Since I installed bash 3.2 using fink, I was using /usr/bin/bash (which is a symlink to /sw/bin/bash). So what I did to fix this was (of course using iterm, since term doesnt open).

    sudo mv /bin/bash{,.old}
    sudo ln -s /usr/bin/bash /bin/bash

    Then I went into “NetInfo Manager” and changed my shell back to “/bin/bash”, and everything is cool again.

    I am not sure when this issue started apparing, since I was using iTerm, but I am suspecting this was brooken in some Apple updae of some sort.

Leave a Reply

