I18n on Mac’s Terminal.app

I write in Serbian more than I do in English. I type my Serbian in both Latin and Cyrillic. It’s really frustrating to type “Ćevapčići” and get this in the terminal:

\304\206evap\304\215i\304\207i

Yes. Mac’s terminal application doesn’t support proper UTF-8. After 2 hours of digging, I found a cure.

A word of warning before you start. You’ll have to download a 900MB development tool. Make sure you have a high-speed Internet.

Here’s the fix:

http://www.rift.dk/news.php?item.7.6

That got me going with UTF-8 in shell, but in Vi and nano I was still getting two bytecodes instead of international characters.

To fix it click on the “Window settings” from Terminal’s menu and then turn off “Escape non-ASCII characters”. Save as default and enjoy!

Уживајте!

Leave a Reply

